Cooking for the Wolf: Black Bean & Butternut Squash Burrito

First, an apology for not blogging regularly the past few months.  As soon as New Year’s 2012 hit, I allowed myself to be sucked into a vortex of never-ending commitments.  As a result, I’m left with little energy and not surprisingly, with less white blood cells.  Since my test results, I’ve already taken action to lessen my load.  Learning the lesson that “feeling good” doesn’t necessarily mean “do way more” is one that I’ve had to re-learn over and over again.  All my life, I’ve been the kind of person who wants to know and experience everything.  There is a deep urgency to that now, one that I struggle to keep in check.  The pain-free hour glass is on it’s last grain of sand… or, at least, I feel it’s best if I tell myself that.  It’s a fine balance knowing your limitations, yet leaving room for new challenges and adventures.  All I know is that whatever I’m faced with, whether it be illness or otherwise, I refuse to expect less out of life.

That being said, I’ve done my moping around about the prospect of the return of Evil P and have chosen instead, to celebrate the fact that I’ve been P-free for 7 months!  It’s the longest time I’ve been off it in the almost 3 years.  Yay!  I also decided that my time would be better used focusing on the “pharmacy” I have complete control over:  The kitchen!

Here’s a Black Bean and Butternut Squash Burritos Recipe from one of my favourite vegan food blogs, “Oh, She Glows.” I decided to do a lettuce wrap version, but the filling is actually great all on it’s own.  Super easy (well, I found chopping the squash hard, but I’m a weakling) and makes a really delicious, healing meal to take to work for lunch!

Not a very good picture, but you get the idea!

One thought on “Cooking for the Wolf: Black Bean & Butternut Squash Burrito

Leave a Reply

